What we’ve got so far

Starting this class I was nervous, our professor, Melody went around the room and asked each of us our experience with multimedia journalism, mine was very limited whereas everyone else seemed to have a good idea of what they would be doing.

Getting started we had to choose a subject that we would blog about weekly which we had an interest in. I chose fashion. 

Unlike classes I’ve taken before, this was a much more practical class with a very hands on approach. We learned through doing. During this class we learned all about wordpress.com. I started exploring, uploading posts, pictures and playing with the settings.

Next, Melody introduced us with Audacity program, where we could edit our first voice recordings. The first to record was ourselves explaining why we chose to do our blogs on the subjects we did. It was weird hearing our own voices! Next learned how to make a slideshow and edit videos.

A really cool thing we learned was the 5 shot video sequences. This was a simple process to something which originally daunted me. It is something I will always remember and I think it will always be a helpful process to know. 

We also learned all about Twitter and the importance of tweeting, #hashtags and basically getting out there with the help of social media.

From my previous posts I have interviewed people from all over the world.

My interviews with Anna, Becky and Gabi taught me about their different styles and what people from different sides of the globe have in common-fashion!

“Fashion is a way to express myself; it’s something that can show people what I am and what I’m interested in.”

This is from my interview with Anna from the Ukraine which you can read here.

“I feel like you’re expected to look presentable when you’re just walking around, like I don’t think you have to look a certain way but  I think that people do judge sometimes but it’s nice to just remember to be yourself and just do you and your own style.”

This is from my interview with Becky from America which you can read here.

“Fashion means a lot to me because it’s a big thing that integrates a huge amount of people in one. And I think it’s important because clothes are essential in showing who you are and making the first impression good.”

This is from my interview with Gabi from Bulgaria which you can read here.

I have really learned so much from taking this class, and am still constantly learning and trying to improve so bear with me!

 

1 thought on “What we’ve got so far

  1. It’s good that you enjoying “learning by doing.” That’s my motto! I hope that one day you will be a fashion journalist and you will remember the things you learned in this class 🙂

Leave a comment